top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmma Trueick

Always good to try something NEW! So... Why not blog?!?

Well this is something very new ... what better what to start than to quote from one of my favourite movies/books, "It's a dangerous business, Frodo, going out your door. You step onto the road , and if you don't keep your feet, there's no knowing where you might be swept off to." J. R. R. Tolkien, Lord of the Rings.


For those of you who know me, expect movie (&book) quotes ... a lot probably!


As I start this as a complete newbie I really have no idea where this journey is going to take me. I have wanted to write for sometime now and with my walk with God over the last few years. I have very much felt being led by God to share the journey. Hence the title "Walk with me" for the blog...!


By way of introduction: My name is Emma, I'm 36, living in Belfast, working as an event manager, my loves are; first and foremost my relationship with God, my family (especially my little niece, and my not forgetting my sisters two dogs), my friends, youth work, helping friends with their weddings, keeping fit and holidays ... many of which I am sure you will hear lots of along the way!


But just to start....

I have grown up in a Christian family, have always gone to church, I professed faith at 13 and have always known God.

3 years ago I experienced what some might call a "crisis of faith" and thankfully today, I can honestly say my walk with God this last 2 years has never been better! (and NO I haven't got it all figured out, and I will more than likely never understand it all).

I am still learning and processing God's pursuit of me to bring me back to Him, but I am so glad he did!

Now, it's not very drastic how I gave up on God for a while, I have always been too much of a wimp to really rebel in life, so I never went too far from Him. However, at that time I have never been so angry as I was at God... and I mean REALLY toddler tantrum, toys out of the pram, from the deepest part of me ANGRY at God all because I was fed up being SINGLE! Yup I said it !!!!! Shock Horror!!... this takes courage ya know (as I laugh nervously)!

Today ... I am currently still single and enjoying it (imagine that!), that also doesn't mean that I don't desire to be married, I DO, (LOL)! But I know that God has used the last few years to help me understand that God needs to be first in my life, always, no matter what. What I have discovered the last 2 years, and counting, is a real depth of understanding of what is means too "... let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think..." (Romans 12v2)


There is so much that I want to say but we have plenty of time and this is only the beginning of this journey... But for now, I sent this to my little cousin this morning who is off to the USA on an exciting journey of his own with God.


"Trust in the Lord with all your heart, do not depend on your own understanding. Seek his will in all you do, and he will show you which path to take." (Proverbs 3v5-6)


I don't know what this bog is or what it is meant to be right now! However my prayer for it would be that as you read it there will be; something you can relate to, something that pulls at your heart, something that encourages you, something that draws you closer to God, something that makes you laugh, smile, cry OR all of the above.


I want to "keep my feet" on the journey, but I am also excited to take a step of faith "out my door" and let God lead the way!


Hope you enjoy,

Walking with me :) xx

Emma


67 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page